Terror 2009

The Terror Seasons

TERROR 2009!
Theatre of Horror and Grand Guignol

At The Southwark Playhouse

7th-24th October 2009

The Terror season took its darkest turn yet with four unremitting plays by leading contemporary writers and moved to its new home at Southwark Playhouse.

‘One of the highlights of my theatrical calendar.’ (The Stage)

‘A fringe institution. Freakishly inventive.’ (Time Out)



‘A chance to enjoy genuinely disturbing works by top writers – you won’t be disappointed.’ (London Lite ****)

‘Warped, creepy and morally ambiguous.’ (Michael Coveney – What’s On Stage.com)


‘These four short shockers ooze nasty glee. The work of an impressive roster of writing talent, the plays that comprise Terror, an annual season of horror now in its sixth year, have in common a confluence between violence and muddled modern gender politics. And they all display a degree of self-reflection that questions both the process and conventions of representing the unthinkable and our motives for watching it. It’s murkily intriguing.’ (The Times)


Psychogeography – by Lucy Kirkwood
With Matt Wilson, Zoie Kennedy and Lucy Caplin
Directed by Adam Meggido

‘Scarily good.’ (London Lite)

‘Ghoulish fun.’ (The Independent On Sunday)


The Experiment – by Mark Ravenhill
Performed by Mark Ravenhill
Directed by Anthony Banks

‘Shocking good horror.’ (Michael Coveney – Whatsonstage.com)


Twisted – by Anthony Neilson
With Trudi Jackson and Adrian Schiller
Directed by Hannah Eidinow

‘A sharp, poisonous pinprick of a play, directed with forensic precision by Hannah Eidinow.’ (The Times)


Some White Chick – by Neil LaBute
With Matthew Stathers, Michael Cox, Lucy Caplin
Directed by Jason Lawson

‘Devastating.’ (London Lite)

‘Completely and utterly terrifying.’ (Fringe Review)


With Cabaret from Sarah-Louise Young and Dusty Limits

Guignolers – William Stewart, Tom Frankland, Keir Cooper, Sioned Jones.


Production Credits, Terror 2009

Artistic Director                        Adam Meggido
Designer                                  Trudi Molloy
Lighting Designer                     Phil Hunter
Production Manager                 Richard Walker
Technical Manager                   Bruce Teggert
Deputy Stage Manager              Jules Richardson
Assistant Designers                 Gillian Badoud & Sam Smallman
Scenic Artist                            Claire Winfield
Press                                       Kate Gambrell
Production Intern                       Sara Goldrath
General Manager                       James Seabright
Associate General Manager        Tom Atkins
Soundscaping                           Corny Booth
Film Footage                            Darren Ormandy
Production Photographer           Gabrielle Motola
Producers                                Adam Meggido and Jason Lawson for The Sticking Place

Photography by Gabrielle Motola and Steve Ullathorne

[Not a valid template]

Comments are closed.